Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography

SDMS Announcements

Nominate the Heroes of Sonography

by SDMS Staff

 SDMS Achievement Awards 2023

All nominations are due by March 31, 202​​4.

Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award

Recognized by the Smithsonian Institute as a pioneer in the field of sonography, Joan P. Baker, RDMS, RDCS, FSDMS was instrumental in founding the SDMS, the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS), and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JRC-DMS). She also served as the first President of the SDMS and ARDMS and is credited with creating the sonography occupation under the U.S. Office of Education.

Established in 1994, the Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award recognizes a sonographer who has made a unique and outstanding contribution to the sonography profession.

Nominees must be an SDMS member whose body of work in sonography represents innovative and outstanding contributions. The award is given only when a qualified candidate can be identified.

SDMS Distinguished Educator Award

The SDMS Distinguished Educator Award honors an exceptional educator in the field of diagnostic medical sonography who is using innovative teaching methods to promote lifelong learning.

Nominees should have taught in a CAAHEP-accredited sonography program for five years or more, be nationally credentialed, and be a model of dedication to teaching, innovation, and students.

SDMS Fellow Membership

The SDMS Fellow membership category recognizes the lifetime achievement of individual members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sonography and to the SDMS. An SDMS Fellow is known for outstanding professional accomplishments as well sustained engagement in SDMS activities and continued SDMS membership. 

All SDMS Fellow nominees must have a record of outstanding professional accomplishments, sustained engagement in SDMS activities, and continuous membership in the SDMS.

Please contact if you have any questions.