Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography

 Practice Guidelines and Standards    

Practice and Accreditation Standards/Guidelines

Practice and accreditation standards & guidelines that our members will find useful.

Clinical Laboratory/Facility Accreditation

While clinical laboratory/facility accreditation is generally considered voluntary, more and more Medicare carriers and third-party insurers are requiring sonographer certification or laboratory/facility accreditation.

Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC)

  • Vascular Testing including:
    • Extracranial Cerebrovascular
    • Intracranial Cerebrovascular
    • Visceral Vascular
    • Peripheral Arterial
    • Peripheral Venous Screening
  • Echocardiography including:
    • Adult Transthoracic
    • Adult Transesophageal
    • Adult Stress
    • Pediatric Transthoracic
    • Fetal
  • Vein Centers ​including:
    • Sclerotherapy
    • Ambulatory phlebectomy/powered phlebectomy
    • Saphenous vein ablation
    • Non-operative management of chronic venous insufficiency with ulceration (CEAP Clinical classification C6)

American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM)

  • Ultrasound including:
    • Abdominal/General
    • Breast
    • Female Pelvic Floor (Urogynecology)
    • Fetal Echocardiography
    • Gynecologic (with or without 3D)
    • Musculoskeletal (Diagnostic)
    • Musculoskeletal (Ultrasound-Guided Interventional Procedures)
    • Standard Obstetric (all trimesters or trimester-specific)
    • Standard Obstetric with an Adjunct in Detailed Fetal Anatomic Ultrasound Examinations
    • Limited OB for Advanced Clinical Providers
    • Thyroid, Parathyroid, and Neck
    • Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia
    • Urologic
    • Point-of-Care Ultrasound (coming soon)

American College of Radiology (ACR)