Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award

In 1994, the SDMS established the Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award in honor of Joan P. Baker, MSR, RDMS, RDCS, FSDMS for her significant contributions to the sonography profession. Joan Baker was instrumental in founding the SDMS in 1969, the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) in 1975, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JRC-DMS). 

Ms. Baker served as the first President of the SDMS and ARDMS and is credited with creating the sonography occupation under the U.S. Office of Education in 1973. She was the first Fellow of the SDMS and was recognized by the Smithsonian Institute as a pioneer in the field of sonography.

Submit a Nomination


The Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award was established to honor sonographers who have made innovative and outstanding contributions to the sonography profession. This award is not an annual award but rather awarded as qualified candidates are identified. Selection is based on contributions which have advanced or changed the f​ield of sonography and increased the knowledge and/or welfare of sonographers.


  • Be a current individual member of the SDMS in good standing and must have been a member for a minimum of five (5) consecutive years immediately prior to nomination.
  • Be credentialed by a national sonography credentialing body recognized by the SDMS Board of Directors, as detailed in the Recognition of Sonography Credentialing Organizations Position Statement.


  • Nominator must be a current individual SDMS member. Self-nominations cannot be made.
  • Nominations are accepted annually between March 1 and March 31.


  • A call for nominations is made to the SDMS membership at large each year.
  • Once the nomination is received, the nominee will be asked to complete the Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award application and return it by the appropriate deadline.
  • The SDMS Membership Awards and Recognition Committee will evaluate all completed applications and make a recommendation to the SDMS Board of Directors.
  • The SDMS Board of Directors may either accept or reject the recommendation. If the Board decides that the candidates do not demonstrate sufficient merit, the award will not be presented that year.


Award winners receive:

  • A three (3) day registration to the current year’s SDMS Annual Conference;
  • An engraved award;
  • Two complimentary, transferrable tickets to the SDMS & SDMS Foundation Awards Dinner held at the SDMS Annual Conference; and
  • Recognition at the SDMS & SDMS Foundation Awards Dinner and in the Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JDMS), SDMS press release, and SDMS social media release.

Joan P. Baker Pioneer Award Recipients

 Year Awarded   Recipient 
1995 Marveen Craig, AA, RDMS, FSDMS
Diane Kawamura, PhD, RT(R), RDMS, FSDMS, FAIUM
1996 Robert DeJong, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, FSDMS
Carol A. Krebs, RT(R), RVT, RDMS
Alan Waggoner, MHS, RDMS, FSDMS
1997 Donna Kepple, RDMS, FAIUM
Marsha Neumyer, BS, RVT, FSDMS, FSVU, FAIUM
1998 Gwen Grim, MBA
Sandra Hagen-Ansert, MS, RDMS, RDCS, FSDMS
1999 Kathryn Kuntz, MEd, RT(R), RDMS, RVT, FSDMS
2000 Beth Anderhub, MEd, RDMS, FSDMS
Anne Jones, BS, RN, RDMS, RVT, FSVU
2001 Sandra Katanick, RN, RVT, CAE, FSVU
2003 Mimi Berman-Sandler, PhD, RDMS, RDCS, FSDMS
2004 Rebecca Hall, PhD, RDMS, FSDMS
Jean Lea Spitz, MPH, RDMS, FSDMS
2005 Terry DuBose, MS, RDMS, FSDMS, FAIUM
2006 Dale Cyr, MBA, RDMS, RDCS, CAE, FSDMS
2007 Terry DuBose, MS, RDMS, FSDMS, FAIUM
2008 Cynthia Rapp, BS, RDMS, RDCS, FSDMS, FAIUM
2010 Wayne Leonhardt, BA, RDMS, RVT
2013 Kevin Evans, PhD, RT(R)(M)(BD), RDMS, RVS, FSDMS
2014 Carol Mitchell, PhD, ACS, RT(R), RDMS, RDCS, RVT, FSDMS, FASE
2015 Joy Guthrie, PhD, ACS, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, RCS, RCCS, RVS, FSDMS
2016 Jim Baun, BS, RDMS, RVT, FSDMS